The 1st Asian Football Awards

  • AsianFootballAwards_1AsianFootballAwards_2AsianFootballAwards_3AsianFootballAwards_4AsianFootballAwards_5AsianFootballAwards_10AsianFootballAwards_9AsianFootballAwards_8AsianFootballAwards_7AsianFootballAwards_12AsianFootballAwards_13AsianFootballAwards_14AsianFootballAwards_15AsianFootballAwards_16AsianFootballAwards_17AsianFootballAwards_18

The first ever Asian Football Awards (AFA) supported by The FA, Kick It Out and Sporting Equals saw leading figures come out to support the glitzy event at the home of football, Wembley Stadium.

Guests for this event included David Bernstein (FA Chairman), Paul Elliot, Graham Le Saux, Piara Powar, Mihir Bose, Gurinder Chadha (Bend It Like Beckham) and award winners Michael Chopra and Manish Bhasin.

The AFA managed to engage with key representatives of those individuals working hard to engage with their communities and develop Asians within the game. The event brought together representatives of clubs and organisations such as Arsenal, Chelsea, Tottenham Hotspurs, Aston Villa, QPR, Wolves, Charlton, Liverpool, The PFA and many leading Asian organisations.

Baljit Rihal Founder Asian Football Awards “The first ever Asian Football Awards was a celebration of the success of Asians in all aspects of UK football. We are proud to have created the awards which we are confident will be an annual high profile event”.

Winners from AFA 2012

Player Award – Michael Chopra (Ipswich Town FC)
Coach Award – Nas Bashir (Hayes and Yeading United)
Asian Woman in Football – Rimla Akhtar (Muslim Womens Sports Foundation)
Investors in Football – Lakhsmi Mittal and Tony Fernandes (QPR)
Foundation Awards – Osmani Trust
Behind The Scenes (Administration) – Raj Athwal (Watford FC)
Behind The Scenes (Medical) – Dr Zaf Iqbal (Liverpool FC)
Media Award – Manish Bhasin (BBC Sport)
Grass Roots Hero – Bal Singh (Khalsa Football Academy)
Young Player Award – Danny Batth (Wolves FC)
Asian Community Club – London Tigers
Inspiration Award – Permi Jhooti
Football Development Project – Diversity Academy (Nottingham)
Lifetime Achievement – Jarnail Singh (Referee)

(courtesy of Sony Entertainment TV)